Ki Tisa 5778

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

After the sin of the golden calf, G-d tells them of numerous commandments including the holidays. The list mentioned here puts Pesach over Shabbos, followed by Shavuos and Succos. In other lists of the holidays, such as in Parshas Emor, Shabbos precedes all the holidays. Why was the order switched here?
The Netziv in his commentary "Ha'amek Davar" explains that this list isn't to teach Bnei Yisroel about the holidays since they were already told of them before the sin of the golden calf (in Mishpatim). Here, this list is to repair a sense of faith that was damaged within them. After such a sin, Hashem saw it fit to reestablish and strengthen the building blocks of their faith by starting with the primary example of faith: Yetzias Mitzrayim and Pesach. By starting with Pesach and the springtime, He was looking to "plant" a sense of Avodas Hashem within them that would stretch across the year and its holidays.


Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...